Belmar DWI Lawyer
A lot of DWI arrests are made by Belmar Police each year. The majority of Belmar DWI charges are filed in the summer months of June, July and August. Call to speak with a Belmar DWI lawyer. Belmar is home to several bars and clubs popular with the young summer crowd. These include Bar A, D’Jais and the Boat Club.
Belmar DWI Arrest
Belmar is a small town organized as borough. Belmar is a part of Monmouth County. The town is located on the eastern end of Monmouth County on the beach of the Atlantic Ocean. Most of the DUI charges in Belmar are made on drivers between the age of 21 and 35. You can unfortunately not get a Belmar expungement for a DWI conviction.
Handling a Belmar DUI
A Belmar DWI lawyer you hire can make sure your rights are protected. A Belmar DUI lawyer can guide you through the process and fight the charges the police are accusing you of. Belmar Police make a ton of DWI and criminal arrests in the summer, especially on Route 35.
If you are charged with a DUI in Belmar, we can help. We will enter a not-guilty plea on your behalf and demand the police give us all the evidence they have. This will probably include arrests reports, videotape evidence, witness statements, and a battery of documentation pertaining to the breath test in your case. New Jersey currently uses the Alcotest 7110, the successor to the Breathalyzer.
New Jersey has severe DWI laws. DUI charges in New Jersey are very serious and you would be well-advised to consult with an experienced attorney. DWI law is constantly evolving and you should speak to a defense lawyer who keeps abreast of the constant changes in NJ DWI law.If you are convicted of a third offense DWI in New Jersey, the consequences are particularly harsh. A conviction for a third DWI in NJ carries six months jail mandatory. It may be possible to serve 90 days of this sentence in an alcohol treatment facility. The jail portion of this sentence must be served first. Your privilege of driving in New Jersey will also be suspended for 10 years.
An unsettled legal issue arises after someone is facing multiple third or subsequent offenses for DWI in Belmar. Each offense would normally be punishable by a minimum 6 month jail term. However, it has been held unconstitutional to sentence a person to more than 6 months in jail without a jury trial in the State of New Jersey.
State v. Federico decided, last year, held that no one can be sentenced to more that 6 months incarceration in New Jersey for charges that stem from a single case. However, Federico did not address whether individuals who face multiple charges from separate cases can be sentenced to more than six months without a jury trial.