New Jersey drivers lose their licenses for a variety of reasons. The most common are if you were convicted of a New Jersey DWI (DUI), have failed to pay a fine or surcharge, or were found to be a persistent violator of New Jersey’s motor vehicle and traffic laws.
If your license to drive in New Jersey has been suspended, you should obviously not operate a motor vehicle under any circumstances. However, life in the garden state can be nearly impossible to manage without a driver’s license. As such, many individuals take the risk of driving while their licenses are suspended. Unfortunately, the consequences for doing so are severe.
N.J.S.A. 39:3-40 is the controlling statute for driving while on the revoked list. For a first offense, there is a fine of $500 and a further suspension of driving privileges for 6 months. For a second offense, the fine is $750 in addition to the 6 month suspension. For a third or subsequent offense, the fine is $1,000 in addition to the suspension.
If you drive while suspended and are involved in an accident, you will be sent to jail for a period of time between 45 and 180 days. If you have been charged with driving while suspended, contact a local attorney experienced in municipal court matters for a free consultation.