Hazlet Drug Arrest Lawyer
Being arrested for drug possession in Hazlet can be a life-changing event. New Jersey has harsh, even draconian penalties for CDS possession. Help is available. An experienced drug charge defense lawyer can go over all the evidence with you and make sure that all applicable challenges are made to the arrest and search. I defend against both adult and juvenile drug charges.
All CDS charges in Hazlet are punishable by the possibility of jail or imprisonment, significant fines and a mandatory driver’s license suspension for at least 6 months. For felony (indictable) drug offenses prison is presumed for all but first-time offenders. For some offenders, programs exist that can result in the case being dismissed. If police in Hazlet have arrested or charged you with a CDS or drug possession case, call now to speak to a NJ drug charge lawyer.
Most arrests in Hazlet involving drugs are for marijuana possession in violation of NJSA 2C:35:10(a)4. Arrests for CDS possession, obtaining CDS by fraud, oxycontin and heroin are also made from time to time in Hazlet.
Hazlet Drug Charges
Hazlet is located in northern Monmouth County, New Jersey. Hazlet Township Police have jurisdiction over the town. The Monmouth County Prosecutor’s Office also has concurrent jurisdiction over Hazlet and does some of its own investigatory work.
Possession of marijuana in Hazlet can be either a felony or misdemeanor. The difference as to if a marijuana charge is a felony (indictable) charge or a misdemeanor (disorderly persons offense) depends on the amount and intent involved. For example, Possession of less than 50 grams of marijuana in Hazlet is a disorderly persons offense. The statute that controls this charge is NJSA 2C:35-10(a)4.
If Hazlet police charge you with possession of less than 50 grams of marijuana, your case will be heard in the Hazlet Municipal Court. If you are accused of indictable offenses though, your case will be sent to the Monmouth County Prosecutor’s Office. After reviewing the complaints and evidence in your case, the prosecutor’s office will decide whether or not they are going to keep the case.
All drug charges in New Jersey carry a mandatory 6-24 month driver’s license suspension. This penalty can only be waived if the judge presiding over your case is convinced that suspending your license would be an undue hardship. The license suspension applies whether or not the offense took place in a motor vehicle. If you are caught with drugs in a motor vehicle, you will also be probably issued a traffic ticket for violating NJSA 39:4-49.1, CDS in a motor vehicle. This ticket carries a mandatory 2 year driver’s license suspension.
Possession of 50 grams of marijuana or more is a crime of the 4th degree. A fourth degree crime in New Jersey is punishable by up to 18 months in prison. If your jail sentence is more than 364 days, you cannot serve it in the Monmouth County jail but must be sent to a New Jersey State Prison.
Possession of CDS, oxycontin or heroin in Hazlet are crimes of the third degree. Crimes of the 3rd degree in New Jersey are punishable by up to 5 years in prison. For all drug convictions in New Jersey, there is a minimum 6 month driver’s license suspension. This applies for both adult and juvenile drug charges.
Hazlet Criminal Court
The Hazlet Municipal Court is located at:
Hazlet Municipal Court
255 Middle Rd
Hazlet, NJ 07730