If you have been arrested for possession of less than 50 grams of marijuana in Monmouth County, New Jersey, you face six months in jail, a $1,000 fine, a $500 DEDR penalty, $75 safe streets assessment, $50 VCCB penalty and $33 court costs. In addition, there is a minimum driver’s license suspension for six months for any drug offense in New Jersey, including possession of marijuana or drug paraphernalia. More than 50 grams exposes you to a felony conviction.
If you have been charged in any Monmouth County town with possession of marijuana or other drug offense, you will probably be scheduled for a first appearance in that town’s municipal court. Or your case could be sent to the Superior Court – Criminal Part. Contact a Monmouth County Drug Arrest Lawyer for a free consultation before appearing in court.
Possession of 50 grams or less of marijuana or being under the influence of marijuana is classified not as a felony, or “crime” under New Jersey Law. Rather, it is a disorderly persons offense, which are punishable by up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. A conviction of more than 50 grams or marijuana is punishable by up to 18 month in jail and a fine of up to $25,000. A charge of possession within 1,000 feet of a school adds an another 100 hours or more of community service to the sentence.
Manufacturing or distributing less than a single ounce of marijuana can be punished by up to 18 months in jail and a fine of $10,000. If you are caught distributing one ounce or more, it is a third degree indictable, which penalty increases to 3 – 5 years in prison and a fine up to $25,000. Manufacture or sale of five pounds or more or cultivation of 10 – 50 plants is punishable by 5 – 10 years in prison and a fine up to $150,000. For amounts of 25 pounds or greater, or cultivation of greater than 50 plants, the penalties increase to 10 – 20 years in prison and a fine up to $300,000.