Improper Passing is a commonly issued traffic ticket in New Jersey. N.J.S.A. 39:4-85 makes it illegal to pass another vehicle from less than a safe distance or in any manner that is unsafe. A violation of this statute carries 4 motor vehicle and insurance eligibility points, a fine of up to $200, and up to 15 days in jail. The fine is doubled in a highway construction zone or in a 65-mile per hour zone. If you have been charged with Improper Passing in New Jersey, contact an experienced NJ criminal defense and municipal court attorney for a free consultation.