Depending on the value of the property alleged to have been stolen, a New Jersey charge of theft can range from a Disorderly Person Offense (Misdemeanor) all the way to a second-degree Indictable Crime (Felony).
Anyone convicted in New Jersey of theft of property valued at $75,000 or more is guilty of a second-degree crime. A NJ theft charge will also be of the second-degree if the property was taken by extortion. A second-degree charge in New Jersey is punishable by 5-10 years in Prison and a $150,000 fine.
A NJ theft charge is of the third-degree if the property involved exceeds $500 but is less than $75,000. A conviction in New Jersey for a third-degree crime carries 3-5 years in Prison and a $15,000 fine.
A charge of theft in New Jersey of property valued between $200 and $500 is a fourth-degree crime punishable by up to 18 months in Prison and a $10,000 fine. Theft of property valued under $200 is a Disorderly Persons Offense, punishable by up to 6 months in jail and a $1,000 fine.