If you are convicted of a New Jersey DWI/DUI, your sentence will include the requirement that you attend the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC). This is in addition to other severe penalties such as license suspension, fines, community service and jail. If you have been charged with DWI/DUI, contact a New Jersey DWI/DUI lawyer for a free evaluation of your case.
The IDRC is a alcohol and drug awareness resource center with locations in each county for first and third offenders. Only three regional centers exist for second offenders. You will be required to stay at the IDRC overnight to attend an alcohol and highway safety education program. IDRC evaluates each individual for any alcohol or drug problem and then determines the need for treatment. If it is determined by IDRC that treatment is needed in your case, IDRC refers the offender to an appropriate provider for a 16-week minimum rehabilitation treatment. The offender may also supplement the treatment with attendance at a self-help group, with both extending to a maximum of one year for IDRC purposes. The IDRC monitors compliance and reports noncompliance to the courts and to DMV/MVC.
IDRC charges an “entry fee.” The applicable IDRC fees and other related charges are:
- $100 attendance fee
- $150 first offender fee
- $200 second offender fee