In New Jersey, not only are there harsh penalties for speeding, but also for driving too slow. It is illegal to drive a motor vehicle at such a slow speed as to impede or block the normal and reasonable movement of traffic except when reduced speed is necessary for safe operation or in “compliance with law.”
A violation of this statute carries 2 motor vehicle and insurance eligibility points. There is also a fine of $50-$200, or 15 days jail (unlikely to be imposed), or both. For a third or subsequent conviction, the MVC will assess 4 penalty points.
If you have been charged with a moving violation in New Jersey, attorney Anthony J. Vecchio can help, contact him today.