Third Offense DUI Lawyer in New Jersey
Qualified DUI Attorney Fights Third Offense DUIs in Middlesex County, Mercer County, Union County, Ocean County, and Burlington County, NJ
A third offense DUI charge in NJ comes with more severe penalties than the two previous charges. Your offense is considered a third-degree offense when it has occurred within ten years of your second DUI conviction. There are some non-negotiable penalties that come with this level of severity. At this level, you will be required to lose your license for a period of 10 years. Much like your second offense, the judge will have no discretion over this time period.
The toughest penalty for a third DUI offense is the mandatory 180 days (6 month) jail sentence. This is required by statute with a 3rd offense. This sentence must be served as a “straight time.” This means that it’s unable to be served as work release or on weekends only.
There is only option to reduce this. That is if the court authorizes you to stay at an inpatient facility for up to 90 days.
Third Offense DUI Penalties NJ
Here is a convenient list of penalties for 3rd offense DUI charges in NJ.
- 10 Years of License suspension (mandatory)
- 180 Days Jail Time
- 12-48 hours intoxicated Driver Resource Center
- $4500 In automobile insurance surcharges over a 3-year period
- Minimum $1,000 fine
- An ignition interlock device
These penalties do not include the additional fees you may incur from the installation of an interlock device. Nor they include retaining an attorney, mandatory alcohol education courses and other programs mandated by the courts.
Third Offense DWI penalties in NJ can not be increased past this point. This means that any subsequent DUI’s will carry the same penalties as the third offense.
There are multiple ways to defend DUI cases. In some instances, it has been possible to have all of the charges dropped. This can be due to insufficient evidence or officers following improper procedures during the initial arrest. This is a severe charge. Time is of the essence to begin building a case to fit your unique situation. If you or a loved one has been charged with 3 DUI’s in the last decade you need to act now. Contact an experienced New Jersey DUI Attorney to begin preparation for your case.
To discuss your options, fill out any form on this site or call Anthony in the office today.