Call Now For Help

732.580.1237

NEW JERSEY BREATHALYZER TEST REFUSAL DEFENSE LAWYER

Contact our NJ DWI attorney if you have been charged with refusing to submit a breath sample or refusal to submit to alcohol breath testing

Don’t Delay Your Defense

If you have been arrested for refusal to submit a breath test, speak with an experienced DWI defense lawyer right away. You do not have the right to refuse to submit to breath samples in New Jersey. The penalties for refusal are severe and are structured similarly to those for DWI convictions. However, there are defenses to a refusal of a breathalyzer test. Give my office a call for a consultation on your case.

Delay can be a mistake. A critical part of defending against this charge is obtaining and analyzing all available discovery and evidence right away. In some cases expert and medical evaluations must be conducted, which can take time to arrange.

Penalties for Refusing to Submit to Alcohol Breath Test in New Jersey

First Offense:

  • License Suspension for 7 months – 1 year
  • Fine: $300-$500

Second Offense:

  • License Suspension for 2 years
  • Fine: $500 – $1,000

Third Offense:

  • License Suspension for 10 years
  • Fine: $1,000

Penalties for Refusing to Submit to Breath Samples in a School Zone

First Offense:

  • License Suspension for 1 year – 2 years
  • Fine: $600 – $1,000

Second Offense:

  • License Suspension for 4 years
  • Fine: $1,000 – $2,000

Third (or higher) Offense:

  • License Suspension: 20 years
  • Fine: $2,000

Typical Defenses to a New Jersey Breathalyzer Refusal Charge

No Operation of a Motor Vehicle

By operating a vehicle on any public road or highway in New Jersey or in a “quasi-public” area, you impliedly consent to an alcohol breath test when requested to do so by a law enforcement officer. It is a defense to a refusal charge that you did not operate your vehicle on a public road or in a quasi-public area. An example would be operating your vehicle in your own driveway.

In some cases, there may be a legitimate dispute whether you operated the vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, or even operated the vehicle at all. These include cases where police observe you walking to your car while apparently intoxicated, and also those involving post-operation investigations by police.

No Probable Cause to Arrest

Police must have probable cause to arrest you for operating a motor under the influence before requesting that you consent to an alcohol breath test. Probable cause to arrest is typically based on the observations of the investigating officers. These observations include what the officer sees, smells, and believes after interacting with you and in most cases, administering standard field sobriety tests. While some of these sobriety tests are approved by the National Highway Traffic and Safety Administration and endorsed by the New Jersey State Police, municipal judges will usually consider a wide variety of divided attention tests and observational testimony.

The most common of these sobriety tests are the walk-and-turn test, the one-leg-stand test, and the horizontal gaze nystagmus test (HGN). Police officers are instructed to properly instruct and demonstrate these tests before conducting them. The conditions that the tests are conducted in can also affect your performance on sobriety tests. These include the weather and ground conditions of the evaluation scene.

It is important to note that police officers must have a “reasonable suspicion” that you operated a vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol to even detain you for field sobriety testing in the first place. That you simply committed a motor vehicle violation is not enough in most cases to detain you for sobriety testing. For example, if police stop you for speeding, but do not smell alcohol on your breath and do not detect any articulable sign of intoxication, it can be argued that the results of subsequent breath testing should be thrown out.

Failure of Police to Read Implied Consent Warning

Police must read you the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission Standard Statement for Operators of a Motor Vehicle before requesting that you provide breath samples. This document is commonly referred to as “paragraph 36”. The police officer’s failure to read you this document may be raised as a defense.

Your inability to comprehend the document may also be raised as a defense. This can be based on a medical problem, a language barrier, or because of the underlying intoxication. This latter claim is known as the “confusion doctrine,” although New Jersey courts have not been overly reception to it.

Impossibility

In some cases, it may be impossible for you to submit to breath testing. These include cases involving extreme intoxication, unconsciousness, and disability. The burden however would probably be placed on the defendant to raise and establish this defense.

Express and Implied Refusal of Alcohol Breath Test

If the investigating police officer has probable cause to believe you operated your vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, he or she may then arrest you and request that you submit to breath samples. After being read the standard implied consent warning, anything but an unequivocal assent can be deemed a refusal to submit.

Unlike your rights concerning interrogation by police, you do not have the right to speak to an attorney before submitting to alcohol breath testing. Remaining silent, questioning the police officer, or any other equivocation can be deemed a refusal by the arresting officer.

Any kind of express refusal to submit can obviously satisfy the statute. A failure to complete the breath test sequence, such as a failure to provide enough volume or breath or for a long enough duration, can also be deemed a refusal.

Call Now for Help With Your DWI Refusal to Submit Breath Test Charge

If you have been arrested for refusal to submit to breath samples, contact The Law Offices of Anthony J. Vecchio, LLC to speak with an experienced DWI defense lawyer. I have defended clients across the State of New Jersey against every type of DWI related arrest. I would be happy to answer your questions and guide you though the process.

LOCATIONS

*ALL LOCATIONS BY APPOINTMENT ONLY*

CALL NOW FOR HELP

732.580.1237

CONNECT WITH US

*No aspect of this advertisement has been approved by the Supreme Court of New Jersey | Rating Methodology | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy
The information contained in on this website is for general information purposes only. The information is provided by The Law Offices of Anthony J. Vecchio and while we endeavor to keep the information up to date and correct, we make no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, about the completeness, accuracy, reliability, suitability or availability with respect to The Law Offices of Anthony J. Vecchio or the information, products, or services contained on www.anthonyvecchiolaw.com for any purpose. Any reliance you place on such information is therefore strictly at your own risk.
The results of verdicts and settlements mentioned herein are not typical. Case results depend upon a variety of factors unique to each case. Case results do not guarantee or predict a similar result in any future case.

Site by Consultwebs.com: Law Firm Website Designers / Criminal Defense/DWI Lawyer Marketing.