New DUI Law Requiring Cameras in Police Cars Stalls on Gov. Christie’s Desk
August 20, 2014
New police cars purchased by New Jersey police departments would be required to have cameras installed if Governor Christie signs the law, which was passed overwhelmingly by both chambers of the legislature. Governor Christie has the option to veto the bill. The bill would have become law without a veto by August 11, but a clause in the state constitution allows the Governor to wait to act on the bill during temporary adjournment. Governor Christie had not yet acted on the bill at the time of this writing.
Assemblyman Paul Moriarty, who was wrongly accused of DUI two years ago, championed the law. Charges were dropped due to video from a camera mounted on the police cruiser. The law was passed previously in January, but failed to become law when Governor Christie failed to act on it by the end of the legislative session. He hasn’t explained why he allowed the bill to die.
Charged with DUI?
Being accused of driving under the influencer (“DUI”) is very serious in New Jersey. Penalties for DUI can include substantial financial consequences, license suspension, installation of ignition interlock devices, jail and community service.
Anyone operating a motor vehicle while that person has a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or more is considered to be DUI.
Fines and fees for DUI can be thousands of dollars. In addition to the financial cost, you could be sentenced to a prison term of up to 30 days. You also could be forced to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle for a period after your conviction. For a second or third offense within 10 years, your fines and fees could more than double and your jail time could increase to as much as 180 days.
If you’ve been accused of driving under the influence in New Jersey you need a tough, experienced DUI attorney on your side. The police have substantial resources and experience behind them, and you deserve the same. Call our office for a consultation to discuss your case.