NJ Penalties for Operating A Vehicle Without a License or Allowing Unlicensed Drivers to Operate a Vehicle
October 5, 2014
Driving without a license is a serious offense in New Jersey. Regardless of the circumstances and whether you are the one driving without a license or have allowed an unlicensed person to drive your vehicle, you could be subject to harsh penalties under the state’s traffic violation laws.
Fortunately, attorney Anthony J. Vecchio has extensive experience in dealing with these types of charges. If you or a family member is facing an unlicensed driving charge, we can provide the aggressive legal representation you need to protect your rights and avoid or minimize the potential fines and jail sentence you are facing.
Driving Is a ‘Privilege’ in New Jersey
Driver’s licenses are issued and renewed through the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission, which treats having the ability to drive as being a privilege rather than as a right.
If you fail to follow the procedures for obtaining a license properly, or if you engage in certain types of driving behaviors such as speeding, reckless driving, driving while impaired by alcoholor drugs, you can have your driving privilege suspended or revoked.
Being caught driving without a valid license can subject you to serious penalties. If you allow an unlicensed driver to use your vehicle, you could be fined and ticketed as well, jeopardizing your own driving privileges.
NJ Penalties for Driving Without a License
Under New Jersey motor vehicle law, drivers may face the following fines and penalties for driving unlicensed or for allowing an unlicensed person to drive:
|Driving without a license NJ (no prior license)||39:3-10||Fines up to $500 Imprisonment up to 60 days. Ineligible for license for 180 days.|
|Driving without a license NJ (with proof of prior license)||39:3-10||Fines up to $500. Imprisonment up to 60 days.|
|Violating restriction on conditional license NJ||39:3-11||Fine up to $100. Imprisonment up to 30 days.|
|Lending driver’s license NJ||39:3-37.1(a)||Fines up to $500.|
|Allowing unlicensed driver to drive NJ||39:3-37.1(b)||Fines up to $500.|
In addition to the state penalties for allowing an unlicensed driver to drive in New Jersey, you could also be held liable for any injuries or property damages in the event an accident occurs – either through claims made against your insurance company or through a personal injury lawsuit.
Allow an Experienced NJ Criminal Defense Lawyer to Help You
If you have been charged with driving without a license or with allowing an unlicensed person to drive your vehicle, contact the Law Offices of Anthony J. Vecchio, LLC.
Attorney Anthony J. Vecchio has the experience you need to assist you in pursuing the best possible results in your case.
We believe that our client testimonials speak volumes about the level of trust we build with each client as well as the hard work we put into seeking the best possible outcome for our clients. Call or connect with our office online today to discuss the details of your particular case.