New Jersey Megan’s Law Removal Lawyers
Trusted Defense Attorney Helps Clients with Megan’s Law Removal in Middlesex County, Mercer County, Union County, Ocean County and Burlington County, NJ
Megan’s Law is the set of laws that imposes registration requirements on certain convicted sex offenders in New Jersey. The law applies both at the state and federal level. If you have been convicted of certain sex crimes, you already know the burden that Megan’s Law imposes. Every time you move, you are legally required to obligate local law enforcement. Your picture may be posted online and labeled “sex offender”.
At the Law Offices of Anthony J. Vecchio, LLC, I understand the trauma this can create for you and your family. I am familiar with the Megan’s Law removal process and the local courts. I handle all elements of the process, including building your case, satisfying the state procedural rules and advocating on your behalf in hearings before a judge.
I use my insight into the prosecutor’s process to build the most effective case possible for my clients. With over a decade of experience and hundreds of five-star client reviews, I have a proven track record of success and can assist you in seeking removal from the sex offender registry.
You don’t have to pay for your past mistakes forever. Call my office or complete this online contact form to schedule a free and confidential initial consultation today.
Qualifying for Megan’s Law Removal Under NJSA 2C:7-2(f)
Megan’s Law registration requirements are far-reaching and extend the punishment for sex crime conviction well beyond time served in prison. Under Megan’s Law, you must maintain contact with local law enforcement and might even be restricted from living or working in some areas. Law enforcement will notify certain community organizations about your history when you move into the neighborhood. Your travel and internet use might be restricted—all in addition to the embarrassment of knowing your past conviction is public knowledge.
Because the law is so harsh, New Jersey provides a process where you can be removed from the registration requirements after 15 years have passed.
To qualify for Megan’s Law removal, the following must generally be true:
- You have not committed a crime in the 15 years since the date you completed punishment for the sex crime
- You are not likely to pose a threat to the safety of others
- You were convicted for a sex crime that qualifies for removal
Qualification for removal is not automatic. At the Law Offices of Anthony J. Vecchio, LLC, I will work to build a strong case in favor of removal. I investigate to gather evidence about your recent history and character in order to convince the judge that you no longer pose a threat to the community. Every case is different, but this might include presenting information about:
- Your recent stable work history
- Your ties to the community and positive behavior in the community
- Megan’s Law compliance history over the 15 years since you completed your punishment
- Any counseling that you have completed
Although the process can take a few months or more, Megan’s Law removal can help you get your life back on track. Call my office today so that I can begin compiling your records and building your case.
New Jersey Tier System: Getting Off the Internet Sex Offender Registry
Even if you are not yet eligible for Megan’s Law removal (for example, if 15 years have not passed), you may be eligible for a reduction in your tier classification. Law enforcement classifies sex offenders using a tier system. Tier 3 offenders are considered to have a high risk of re-offense and Tier 2 offenders are deemed to pose a moderate risk.
If you are classified as Tier 2 or Tier 3, you may be placed on the Internet Sex Offender Registry in addition to community notifications. This means that, in addition to the police notifying certain organizations where you live of your status, your personal information will be publicly available for anyone to access. Under NJSA 2C:7-13(g), that information includes:
- Your name and address
- Identifying information about your vehicle
- A description of your sex offense conviction, including information about how the offense was committed and the victim’s characteristics
- Information about your physical appearance
- Your photo
- Information about whether your risk for re-offense is moderate or high
In addition to general Megan’s Law removal, you are entitled to petition for a tier reduction. To do so, I will file a motion to challenge your appearance on the Internet registry. Having a skilled lawyer by your side is critical. Your attorney will challenge the prosecution’s characterization and tier placement, as well as make sure the judge has the correct facts about your case.
Call the Law Offices of Anthony J. Vecchio, LLC to Discuss Megan’s Law Removal Options Today
Megan’s Law removal is a complex process. New Jersey criminal courts take sex offender registration extremely seriously. If you have questions about the Megan’s Law registration rules or Megan’s Law removal, call my office today. Your consultation is entirely confidential, 100% free, and creates no obligation on your part.
Frequently Asked Questions About Megan’s Law Removal
Yes. Registrants who were convicted of aggravated sexual assault or sexual assault punished under NJSA 2C:14-2(c)(1) are not eligible for Megan’s Law removal under NJSA 2C:7-2(g). NJSA 2C:14-2(c)(1) is sexual penetration using physical force or coercion, and without the victim’s permission, even if the victim is not seriously injured (in other words, rape).
Generally, no. Megan’s Law removal is only available if you have committed no other criminal offenses in the 15-year period. Even if you were arrested and the charges were dismissed, it is still possible that the prosecution will object to the motion for removal.
Any documents related to your conviction and punishment. This includes police records, judgment of conviction, records of your parole history, any documents used in the tier assignment process and anything else that might help the court decide whether Megan’s Law removal is appropriate.
The requirements for getting off parole supervision for life are similar to Megan’s Law removal. 15 years must have passed with a clean criminal record and you must show you no longer present a threat to public safety. Motions for both requests can be made at the same time.